Today I made the chipbreaker.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Because of where the chipbreaker screw fell I decided to set this plane up with a wedge and pin rather than with a levercap or a screwcap. I’ll be milling out the casting where the screw was inserted, which will make the fitting of the infill easier. I drilled the cheeks and inserted a pin, routed a slot for the chipbreaker screw into the bed and cut a quick wedge.

image

First shavings:

image

The mouth is not particularly tight, about 1/16″, but with a chipbreaker it shouldn’t matter.

image

Now to take it all apart, do the final milling of the casting, make new wood parts, tune it up well and put it to work.

The bed milled out the rest of the way:
image

I preserved the draft or taper in thickness by inserting a shim under the heel of the plane before clamping it down.

